One popular question I am often asked is how to obtain a Georgia disabled / handicapped parking permit. As you probably know, a disabled permit or license plate will allow you to park in designated parking spots if you have a disability, injury or illness that limits your mobility.
Since 2006, the Georgia Department of Revenue has been responsible for issuing handicapped parking permits. However, you can complete your application for a permit at your county tag office.
How To Obtain A Handicapped Parking Permit
In order to obtain a handicapped parking permit, you must first meet certain eligibility requirements. To do so, you must have a licensed doctor or physician certify that you suffer from an injury or condition that impairs: your hearing, ability to walk a distance of 200 feet or more without resting, ability to walk without the use of a walker or wheelchair, your ability to breath (lung diseases and cancer(s)), or ability to see (blindness). A severe heart or neurological condition that limits your ability to walk, as well as complications related to pregnancy, may also constitute grounds for a handicapped parking permit.
Disabled parking permits can be temporary or permanent in time. For example, someone who suffers an injury, but will recover, or a woman whose pregnancy limits her ability to walk 200 feet or more without rest, will qualify for temporary permits. They will only need them until their injury is healed or their baby is born, respectively. Temporary permits expire 180 days (6 months) after they are issued. Permanent handicapped parking permits, on the other hand, have no termination date. Those who suffer from chronic or life-long disabilities or conditions should apply for these permits. Beware, however, that permanent handicapped permits must still be renewed every four (4) years.
Once your doctor determines that you suffer from a condition that requires use of a handicapped parking permit, you and your doctor will need to complete a Disabled Person’s Parking Affidavit, known as Form MV-9D. You can obtain a copy of this affidavit from your county tag office, or download it from the internet here. This affidavit affirms, under the penalty of perjury, that you need the handicapped permit. Once completed, the Affidavit must be submitted by you in person to your local tag office. If your application is approved (and they routinely are), you will be issued your disabled parking permit at the tag office.
You’ll be happy to know that there is no charge for a temporary or permanent disabled parking permit. If you choose to have special handicapped license plates, though, there will be a $20 fee.
In order to renew your permanent handicapped parking permit, you must complete and submit a new Disabled Person’s Parking Affidavit (Form MV-9D) to your county tag office every four (4) years.
If you are applying for Social Security disability benefits, having a Handicapped Parking Permit can be strong evidence of a severe medical impairment justifying a favorable award. Doctors who are reluctant to assist a patient with a disability claim are often willing to help in this way, thereby indirectly strengthening your disability claim, particularly if you are 50 years old, or older. If you need assistance with a Social Security disability case, contact one of the dedicated attorneys at Murphy & Garner, LLC today. We will fight for your rights and get you the compensation you deserve.
Call us today for a free consultation at (678) 563-1584.